Soloists – Elīna ŠIMKUS, Laura GRECKA, Mihails ČUĻPAJEVS, Rihards MAČANOVSKIS

State Choir LATVIJA

Conductor Jean-Claude CASADESUS 


Ludwig van BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 1

Ludwig van BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 9 

The beginning and end of a genius - two symphonies, two different Beethovens. In the First,a young, well-educated, aspiring revolutionary making his entrance and simultaneously abandoning the conservative canons. In the Ninth, he reaches an apex, an explosive climax of all-consuming sparks - he dreams of connecting millions and creates a hymn to unity and freedom. Beethoven’s devotion to music is rivalled by the conductor of tonight’s concert, the elegant French maestro Casadesus, who rejoins the LNSO to fulfil his motto - “to serve, to venture, to give and to get”. In his view, music is the purest path towards absolute spirituality, and Beethoven would have certainly agreed. A season closing performance of profound humanity and grandeur!

No upcoming events