Maestro and Margarita Balanas

October 16, 2021 5:00 PM
View in map

The concert has been postponed to 16th of October, 2021.Purchased tickets are valid! 


Liepāja Symphony Orchestra together with the expert of the ancient music maestro Andris Veismanis are willing to offer their listeners a rich programme comprising Bach, Kraft, and Schubert’s music. Anton Kraft is one of the most brilliant cellists of his time, a close friend of Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven, and the author of a virtuous and skilful concerto for cello which will be performed by the bright and fantastic Latvian cello soloist Margarita Balanas. Whereas, Franz Schubert’s Symphony No. 8 is thought to be the first romantic symphony and is dominated by a rather interrogative mood. Another puzzle accompanying this piece is also the unanswered question about the author’s idea of making this symphony a four-movement cycle—there are some music researchers who think that “Rosamunde” Overture was actually meant to be the fourth movement for the Unfinished Symphony, and merely due to a need Schubert used it as an interlude for the play.


Soloist — Margarita Balanas / cello

Conductor — Andris Veismanis

Liepāja Symphony Orchestra



Johann Sebastian Bach — Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major

Anton Kraft — Concerto for Cello and Orchestra in C major

Franz Schubert — Symphony No. 8 or the Unfinished Symphony

Franz Schubert — Overture “Rosamunde”




  • School children, students, teachers, seniors - 2,- EUR
  • Family card " 3+ ģimenes karte" holders - 30%

Dear visitors of Liepāja Symphony Orchestra concerts!

We await our visitors an hour before the event. 

Tickets for the events  must be purchased by each visitor




Ticket prices
30 €
  • available

When buying tickets online, Transaction fee is added. Read more .

When buying tickets at Box offices, Transaction fee is not added. Box offices